View topic - Newbie sail# 6971

Newbie sail# 6971

General Forum for Discussing All Things Albacore

Newbie sail# 6971

Postby Heinrich » Sat Oct 05, 2013 12:12 am

Hi all,

We bought our Skene Albacore sail# 6971 about a month ago. She is in decent shape and we went on lake Ontario twice last week. Both of us, my girlfriend and I are total newbies to sailing, but this forum and youtube are wonderful resources.
The boat has white hull and pale blue deck. I am fairly confident that the sail number and hull match, the number is marked upside down on the inside of the transom. There is a worn Skene label on the CB trunk cap.
The mast is Proctor, tapered with inside halyards. The boom is also Proctor with mid boom main blocks and a small sheave in the aft end-cap for the outhaul.
Also, there is no jib halyard tensioning device, just a cleat on the mast same as for the mainsheet halyard. For the time being we used the turnbuckle on the forestay to apply rig tension instead of the jib halyard, that worked just fine in light air.
Sails are clean, in good condition and a bit baggy with a Storer Sails label, the AL symbol and KC number.

I would be very thankful if anybody could dig out any more info about the history of this Albacore. The boat was last sailed a few years ago on a small lake (Preston Lake) north of Toronto by owners living nearby, this is all I know.

Hull and deck and thwarts are of GRP, show no cracks but the buoyancy tanks are peeling off the bottom big time, that will be my winter project. There are no scuppers on the transom, just a drain bung port side of center.
There were some puzzling details I first tried a dry rigging. For example the outhaul was not just missing, but it looked as if it never was any. Apparently the previous owner just used a 3 ft piece of 1/4" line to tie the mainsail clew to the end cap of the boom.